top of page

Orchid Dainion Jones


Name

Orchid Dainion Jones

Women Centre

Mandeville

Daughter

Teyana Woodley

High School

Bellefield High

deCarteret College

At what age did you give birth?

14

What were the struggles you faced being an adolescent mother?

As a mother, having your child's best interest is a constant factor. I had to ensure to save money to ensure there was emergency finances for my daughter. I couldn’t buy anything foolish. I had to use my money wisely, and even had to limit what I spent on lunch. Budgeting was tough, but very important.

How did the Women Centre assist you?

The Women’s Centre helped me to get back on track. I was able to believe in myself again. I am grateful to the Women’s Center because they pushed me to utilize my talents. I even learned how to sew, which is one of my many passions.

What are you currently doing?

I am currently working at the National Water Commission in Mandeville as a Clerical Officer.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I am working on completing my studies, and I would like to get into entrepreneurship.

Word of advice?

Don't let the little struggles of life get you down, God is not going to give you more than you can bear. Your struggles are the foundation for your successes. Never be afraid to go out in the world and be the best you can be. Give 100% on everything!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page