top of page

Betty-Ann Weir


Name

Betty-Ann Weir

Women Centre

Mandeville

Son

Damien Grant

High School

Belle field High School

At what age did you give birth?

16

What were the struggles you faced being an adolescent mother?

I was criticized, humiliated and discriminated by peers, family, friends and strangers. I had to rebuild my self-esteem and confidence and I had to find the means to provide for the child.

How did the Women Centre assist you?

The Women Centre helped me rebuild my self-confidence and self-esteem by encouraging and guiding me down the right path. I became certified in NCTVET Cosmetology. In 2009 I was given the opportunity to travel to the UK and Germany, to represent the Women's Centre as a successful student who benefited from the Centre's Cosmetology Department. With the guidance of the Centre, I manged to complete five CSEC subjects and received grade one and two.

What are you currently doing?

I am a proud member of the Jamaica Constabulary Force.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself graduated from a credible University with a Bachelor Degree in Sociology.

Word of advice

Let negativity pass you like the wind. Don't overburdened yourself with the opinions or perception of others. Be confident, be humble, be patient, be determine and know your purpose in life because the race is not for the swift but those who can endure until the end. No matter what obstacles you face in life,

rise up, you are young and there is hope for the future. Always remember determination is the key to success. Trust in the Lords and you can achieve anything. Tell yourself this is where my journey to success begins!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page