top of page

Fantasia holds nothing back, shares life journey with adolescent mothers

Fantasia giving Dr. Zoe Simpson a welcome hug

KINGSTON - R&B sensation Fantasia Barrino visited the Women Centre of Jamaica Foundation (WCJF) on Friday afternoon, before her well anticipated Blues on the Greens concert.

Barrino greeted the counselors, teachers and admin executives at the WCJF, and commended them for their job well done in encouraging teen mothers to continue their education.

“I went through a rough patch of going through the wrong relationships, dropping out of school, trying to fit in,” Fantasia said in front of a group of a the WCJF adolescent mothers.

“But thank God, thank God that he never took his hands off me. Thank God that I had people like these women [pointing to the WCJF staff] that you have, to help! I was able to turn things around.”

She shared her experience to the adolescent mothers on being a teen mother, domestic abuse survivor and her attempt in committing suicide.

“I cried, I tried to commit suicide – now I look back and think wow I am so blessed and I would never go through those things again.”

Fantasia has been no stranger to sharing her life story, and tears sparked as she relayed her past experiences to the girls.

“I was broke, I lost all my money, I lost my home and I lost a lot of people who said they loved me.”

“But the woman that stands before you today is stronger than she has ever been,” Fantasia said with tears in her eyes.

The U.S Embassy provided the girls with transportation to take them to the Blues on the Green concert at Emancipation Park.

During the concert, Fantasia dedicated her last song to the girls of the WCJF.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page