top of page

Khadijah Heholt

No one can ever be fully prepared to become a mother, but now imagine becoming a mother when you are a teen. There are many lifelong lessons that can be learnt through each experience. My name is Khadijah Heholt, and I became a mother at the age of 15. When I became pregnant, I thought of ending my life. But here I am today to tell my story.

The Women’s Centre of Jamaica played an important role in my becoming a parent, and ahelped me return to school after dropping out. The Women’s Centre offended many of the subjects that were available at my previous high school such as, English, Mathematics, Information Technology, Human and Social Biology and English Literature classes. They also implemented the use of Arts where each girl was required to do an embroidery piece each week; keeping our minds relaxed and engaged at the same time. We also had classes that were aimed at enlightening us about the use of contraception and how effective they can be when used in the correct manner.

During my time at the Women’s Centre, I clearly remember Ms. Richmond and Ms. Brown because they wanted to ensure we maintained decent mannerism and good etiquette. All girls at the Centre had a weekly responsibility in the lunchroom that was mandatory. It was also a lot of fun. Through these responsibilities we managed to bond with one another, and even with the kitchen staff. Becoming close with the girls and the staff made me feel supported and secure. Meanwhile I felt the complete opposite with the people who I should have been supported by.

Like all life experiences, they never last forever and it was time for me to leave the Women’s Centre. I was enrolled at Ferncourt High School, which was closer to my home. While attending Ferncourt, the Women’s Centre had called and made visits to checkin on all of us (adolescent mothers) who were attending my high school. I adapted well in my new school, and I was determined to do great things. I was placed in the distinction club after receiving my first report, where I received a grade average of 80% (3.00 GPA). After sitting my CSEC Examinations, I attained 6 grade ones, 1 grade two and 1 grade three. I graduated with a credit and as the top English student.

I eventually enrolled at Moneague College, where I am currently working towards my Bachelors in Hospitality and Tourism Management. I have successfully completed my Associates Degree in Hospitality and Tourism Management, a certificate in First Aid and CPR, and a Team Jamaica Member Certificate. I anticipate on completing my studies in August 2019, and look forward to pursuing a career in Hospitality.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page